Posted by: ohmypuddin | April 4, 2013

I Am Old

Here is a random list of ways I know I’m getting older. I know, I know, we all get older, and it’s part of life, and nothing stays how it was, and back in my day, we didn’t even HAVE sunscreen and earplugs, and you kids have it so lucky these days, blah blah BLAH. Don’t care. Don’t leave comments about “just wait til you’re 40/50/60/100/a dinosaur! then you’ll see! you’ll all see!” because I WILL reply to you. Vehemently. You want to talk about how I don’t know about aging? Do it on your own blog.

Yes, I am cranky today. I didn’t get very good sleep last night, because of the wine.

  • I have arthritis in my kneecap, and take glucosamine for it.
  • I frequently lose my sunglasses…on my head.
  • I can’t remember anything anymore.
  • I go to bed at 9 most days, and get really mad when I don’t.
  • I get up before the sun comes up.
  • I don’t like places that are loud, smoky and overpriced.
  • Getting out the door requires multiple trips to find missing items.
  • I have become obsessed with the luminousness of my skin (or lack therof).
  • Consuming more than 2 drinks means I will wake up at 2am.
  • When I want to leave, I do.
  • I invite people over rather than going out.
  • I wear earplugs to bed.
  • I get angry when I don’t get a good night’s sleep.
  • I crave a good night’s sleep.
  • I mix up my dogs and call them by the wrong names.
  • I will switch topics mid-conversation.
  • I grow herbs so I won’t have to buy them.
  • Change makes me cranky.
  • Lack of sleep makes me cranky.
  • Hunger makes me cranky.
  • Eating too much makes me cranky.
  • Basically, any minor discomfort makes me cranky.
  • I no longer try to lose weight. I try to maintain the weight I am.
  • I make lists of ways I am old.
Responses

  1. I turn into a walking breathing Snickers commercial when I’m hungry. It’s all “Feed me or get out of my way!” when I’m hungry.

  2. Baaahaha. And this is why we get along so well – I’d probably die if anyone else sat next to me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

