Posted by: ohmypuddin | July 25, 2012

Fresh Pasta

So we went to the Austin Food & Wine Festival, and now we make so much pasta. We bought the pasta attachments for our Kitchen Aid mixer. Did you know that thing is expensive? We thought we could save some money by buying a roller and slicer separately, but it comes out to about the same price, and then you have to crank everything by hand. So the attachment we bought.

Making your own pasta is a dangerous task. First, there’s the fact that you’re making pasta and have fresh pasta around and it’s so delicious that you want to eat it all. And sometimes you do eat it all, and that’s not good for you. But it is so delicious.

Second, sometimes the dogs get a little too close to your pasta for comfort. Dogs that have been known to steal a sandwich from your hand and hamburger buns off the grill. Silly, hungry dogs.

I myself have yet to make this pasta, for the same reason that I don’t like to do a lot of desserts – if I make it, I will eat it. So John does all the pasta making, and I do a lot of the pasta eating.

For the pasta:
2 cups flour
Generous pinch of salt
8 egg yolks, lightly beaten
1/3 cup water

Serves 4 to 6

Make the pasta. Mound the flour on a pastry board or other wood or marble work surface. Make a well in the center and add the salt and the egg yolks. Using a fork, gradually fold the flour into the eggs, adding the water little by little until you have a soft dough. Knead a few times until smooth, then form the dough into a ball, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least 1 hour and up to 24 hours.

When ready to make the pasta, divide the dough into 6 equal portions. Using one portion at a time, (cover the other pieces of dough with a cloth or plastic wrap to keep them from drying out), roll out the pasta dough into thin sheets. The pasta is thin enough when you can see your hand through the dough. The pasta is now ready to be cut. Attach the cutter and cut the sheets one at a time. Dust the tagliatelle with flour so it doesn’t stick together and place on a lightly floured surface to dry for 5 minutes before cooking.

When ready to cook the pasta, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook until tender but firm to the bite, 2 minutes.

Drain the pasta and return to the pot. Add the sauce to the pot and stir gently to combine. Cook over low heat for about 2 minutes to allow the pasta to marry with the sauce.

The sauce here is one described at the pasta session we went to, cherry tomatoes cooked in bacon and bacon grease,, with some olive oil and fresh basil. A hearty, satisfying meal.

And if you’re me, you top all that pasta with some delicious cheese.

If you’d like other sauces for your pasta, try the Ragu Bolognese or Crock Pot Spaghetti or just some fresh pesto. I just made a big bunch of pesto over the weekend, froze it into ice cube trays, and put the cubes in a bag in my freezer. That way, when I want some pesto, I just heat up a few cubes and it’s ready.

Responses

  1. Your pasta looks amazing! I agree, pasta makers are not cheap. I bought one for my husband for his b-day. He makes the pasta in our house as well.
    Great tip for freezing pesto. I have a ton of Basil in my garden that I need to do something with.

  2. Dangerous, indeed! I’ve been debating on whether or not I want to invest in the attachment as well — I was able to get the meat grinder attachment for free! WOOT!

  3. I might eat gluten for this pasta. Great Tuck pic! What a cute little food thief.

  4. I want some homemade pasta with magical bacon grease tomato sauce RIGHT THIS MINUTE!

  5. ah! fresh pasta! has it really been a year since i’ve made some??

    marcella hazan’s simple tomato sauce is also divine with it, bee tee dubs. also lookit, i have a blog now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

