Posted by: ohmypuddin | May 23, 2012

Austin Food & Wine Festival Wrap Up

In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m behind on blogging these days. The posts are few and far between. But I’m still here! Doin stuff.

Last month, we went to the Austin Food & Wine Festival. It was: delicious, steamy, winey, humid, crazy, and amazing.

We’d gotten some blogger passes, which were weekender passes. On Friday night was a VIP event, which we couldn’t go to. So instead, we dressed up and went to Congress for dinner.

My favorite thing at Congress was the veal and sweetbread slider.

We ate a lot of other things too. They were all delicious.

We’d booked a hotel near the festival, so the next day, we walked to breakfast and then walked over to the festival.

Look, it was really hot. Hot outside, and sunny, and then even hotter in the tents. We’d arrived just in time for the grand tasting, tents filled with wine and food samples. So the tents were like saunas. We tried to cool off with some wine.

We went to a few sessions, including Tony Mantuano’s about pasta and Italian cooking. John was so inspired by it that we bought a pasta roller and cutter the next day.

We were really hot and sweaty after the sessions, so we went back to the hotel to shower and change, and then head to La Condesa for dinner!

I neglected to mention that we were there that weekend with Emily (aka Defining Delicious). We met up with her and her family at La Condesa, where we ate so many delicious tacos, but I neglected to take photos of any of them. But here’s a picture of one of the desserts.

After dinner, we walked around and stumbled upon the VIP Taco Throwdown, which we thought we couldn’t go to because we didn’t have VIP passes. But because we are so naturally charming, they let us in.

I was so full from dinner that I only tried one of the tacos, so I can’t say much about that. But I did meet Marcus Samuelsson and ran into Andrew Weissman (who was having drinks at La Condesa at the same time we were there. You guys, Andrew Weissman is my new best friend. He doesn’t know it yet though.)

It was a fun weekend. We stopped at the outlets on the way home and bought some pasta attachments to make our own fresh pasta. Between that weekend and all the fresh pasta we’ve been making, I’ve gained about five pounds.

Whenever I go to Austin, my head explodes from all of the awesome places I still need to eat. Austin is a fun city, y’all.

Responses

  1. I like to call Marcus Samuelsson my Ethiopian brother from another mother…if only I knew him for real


Leave a Reply

Categories

