Posted by: ohmypuddin | March 15, 2012

Avocado Toast

me: “I made avocado toast for breakfast.”
John: “Oh, is that a recipe from Pinterest?”
me: “No, it’s just avocado mashed on toast.”
John: “Are you gonna blog about it?”

It seemed like a ridiculous question at the time. It’s just toast. Have you ever seen a toast recipe before? I haven’t. It would look ridiculous, a parody of a recipe. Step one: toast bread. Step two: put things on the bread. Step three: eat. Ridiculous, right?

Avocado toast isn’t a new thing. Lots of people eat it. I’ve been meaning to make it for awhile, but I always forget to use the avocados for breakfast, instead using them for a dish. Or I get in the habit of eating cereal for breakfast.

Then TheKitchn posted an article on ways to eat avocados for breakfast and reminded me how much I want to eat this. Look at it. I kind of want it right now, even thought I’m not hungry.

I haven’t been working out lately. I’m feeling sluggish, mentally, physically, emotionally. I also continuously struggle with how to help my dad be healthy. How to get him to eat more vegetables. How to get the processed foods out of our house. How to keep his body healthy so his mind can heal. And I’m trying to make those changes myself, to be healthy so I can take care of my father and myself.

So it’s a simple little thing. Whole grain bread, lightly toasted, half a ripe avocado mashed on top, and sprinkling of kosher salt. I could get fancy with some lemon pepper or red pepper flakes. I could add a little lime juice, or brush the bread with olive oil. But it’s about the simplicity of it, making a small change to an everyday routine. It’s about starting my day off on a delicious note, setting the tone for everything that will follow.

It’s also about balance. Look, avocado toast is not the healthiest thing in the world. It’s a lot of fat on top of a carb. But you know what? I don’t want to drink a kale smoothie or eat egg white omelets with no cheese. I still want to enjoy my food, and I want my dad to enjoy his. We just have to learn how to balance the good with the bad.

Basically, I wrote this whole post because I thought it was funny when John asked if I was going to blog about it, and then it seemed like a good idea. To take the idea of blogging a recipe of toast and turn it around.

Responses

  1. this looks delicious…and healthy 🙂

  2. I love avocado toast! I ate it on my road trip because it’s fresh food that you can transport easily and also eat in a hotel parking lot with at least a little grace. Actually, no grace at all. I dropped the other half of the avocado on the ground, and carried it around in my backpack for a few hours thinking “I can totally wash this off,” and then common sensed kicked in. Anyway, nice blog post.

  3. Why has it never occurred to me to schmear avocado on toast? What is wrong with me? See, its a good thing you blogged about toast.

  4. Yum! We had avocado pitas over the weekend, because that’s what we had around the house. You really can’t go wrong with those delicious fruits/vegetables/whatever they are.

  5. looks so yummy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

