Posted by: ohmypuddin | February 1, 2012

Changes

Last year was the year of Lauren. Remember that? I was going to create new experiences, try new things, take charge, carpe diem.

And I did. In more ways than I can count. Sometimes you can change your life, you can look ahead to what you want the future to be and make it happen.

And sometimes life changes you.

My father had a stroke last month.

It was sudden and unexpected. He lives near me, so we’ve gotten him treatment and pills and things to do. He’s staying with me while he recovers.

I’m not telling you this because I want sympathy, or because it’s any of your business. It’s not your business. I’m telling you this because I’ve been thinking about what to do with this blog.

Food and cooking and eating are still important to me. Hell, eating is important to all of  us, it’s how we stay alive. But writing about recipes and cooking seems trivial now, when I have a lot of other important things to think about. Things that are more important than writing this blog.

I’m also telling you this because I want you to know that I might be writing about other things for a while. This blog, when I first started it, was just about my life. It might become about my life again. I might want to talk about my dad, about strokes, about taking care of a parent.

Then again, I might not. I might want to use this space to escape from all of that. Where I can talk about something frivolous.

Through this whole process, people have told me to take care of myself. Part of that means giving myself permission and space to do what I want.

Right now, I don’t know what I want this blog to be, or what it will become in the coming months. I have no idea.

If you’d rather read stuff about food and not about my life, you can read other blogs for a few months. There are a lot of good blogs out there, and you shouldn’t have any problem finding them.

But I bet some of you will stick around. I hope you do, anyway.

Responses

  1. Love you. Love your blog. Will read it whatever it’s about. Write when you want to, not because you feel like you have to. Been thinking of you lots. Internet hug.

  2. We are social creatures. We social creatures have evolved to include some very good food in our group activities. Food is good for the soul. Food can be healing (ask any PMS sufferers). It can heal the body and heal the spirit. Our memories are closely tied to our senses and our emotions respond powerfully to our memories of smell.
    Cook for you, cook for your dad. Let the texture and the smells bring you both to a new place with good memories and powerful emotions. Let the act of preparing food work the tension from any particular situation. Let the freshness of a bell pepper rinse your senses, wash your fingers and refresh your mind. With the mix of delicate and rich aromas watch the change in your dad’s demenor. More change than any medication (uh, except narcotics ;>) can make.
    Food and medicine are not seperate in the care of the recovering, or of their caretakers .
    I look forward to what your blog brings regarding you and your dad. Oh, and my cousin too.

    judeth

  3. […] everything happening with my home life last year, I gained a fair amount of weight last year. Not a huge amount, but enough to go up a few pant […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

