Posted by: ohmypuddin | November 28, 2011

Thanksgiving My Way

Thanksgiving plate

Sous vide turkey; cranberry BBQ sauce; two kinds of brussel sprouts; two kinds of stuffing; buttermilk biscuits; celery root, leek and potato gratin

What makes a Thanksgiving? I have lots of Thanksgiving memories. They’re usually coupled with my birthday, November 22, which is usually right around Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving is one of those holidays that’s a requirement, but pretty low key. It’s like a warm-up for December, when things get stressful and complicated. I confess, I’m not always the jolliest at Christmas. Between trying to figure out when we’ll see our various families and when, to buying presents, to the actual travel, to being in cold places (with snow! I’m not made for that weather), it’s stressful. I’m already kind of anxious about it.

But Thanksgiving is none of that. The most stressful part is the cooking, which does stress me out, but in a way I can usually handle.

Like all Thanksgivings, ours was late. Literally. To make sure our families could all be there, we celebrated on Friday instead of Thursday. So it was a day late. And we first said we’d serve at 2pm. But at 2pm, I finally got the gratin in the oven, and it had to cook for a minimum of 90 minutes. Can you see where this is going?

When we finally did sit down at 4pm, we had plenty of food and plenty of people. We had all of my parents, John’s parents and brother, John’s cousin, and our friends Kate and Sam, who graciously made a sage and sausage stuffing and a cornflake stuffing, bacon brussel sprouts, and gravy. We had lots of wine. We had perfectly cooked turkey, thanks to John’s sous vide machine. We had all the food warm at the same time (amazing!). We had a warm place to eat. We had lively conversation.

Thanksgiving means a lot of things to a lot of people. For me, it’s an excuse to eat, to cook, to see people you don’t normally see. It’s a time to drink a lot of wine, tell embarrassing stories, learn things about people, and play Catchphrase. Even if you’re not very good at it.

I hope your Thanksgiving was awesome. Mine was.

Responses

  1. Hey love your work so much I nominate you for a blog award.. More details on my blog soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

