Posted by: ohmypuddin | September 11, 2011

Meeting Curtis Stone

Sometimes I feel really stressed and overwhelmed and like I don’t have time to do things that I want to do, like review restaurants and cook and clean and blog. But then I get to do things like meet Curtis Stone, and I remember that this is the Year of Lauren, and my life is pretty cool.

I got an email a few weeks ago letting me know that Curtis Stone, famed chef, Top Chef Masters host, and stunning Australian, would be at the Hotel Indigo for the Locals Know Best Dish on the Dish event. Would I like to interview him? Hell yes I would.

So I went, and Curtis (we’re on a first name basis now) and I chatted about the tour. He told me that he usually asks cab drivers and hotel concierges for restaurant recommendations. I told him about Local Dish, developed by An Average Joe in San Antonio. He said it sounded pretty cool!

I knew that Curtis Stone would soon be having a baby with his girlfriend, so I talked to him a bit about if he was concerned about developing the palate his future child. He said he believed that children’s palates develop early on, even beginning in the womb. He also said that he’s heard some doctors tell pregnant women they should eat whatever they want, which isn’t good for the mother or the baby.

We didn’t talk for long, but he seems like a nice guy. He told me he was a guest judge for a couple of the episodes of Top Chef Texas that had wrapped up just a few days earlier. He asked me for advice on other places to eat in San Antonio, and I gladly named some of my favorites.

So that’s what it was like to meet Curtis Stone! Like meeting other people, but really tall and Australian.

Responses

  1. Oh my… I have to admit I’m a little jelly. Local dish sounds like a cool app.

  2. “Like meeting other people, but really tall and Australian.” That line is golden. Well done Lauren, well done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

