Posted by: ohmypuddin | May 10, 2011

How to Make Your Food Look Impressive

As you know, I am a connoisseur of  fancy things. I speak in a fake British accent, hold my pinky aloft, and always fold my napkins in some sort of delightful bird shape. Not really, but years of eating at restaurants has taught me how to make even the most mundane food look fancy. So here are my tips to fancy things up!

  1. Write a menu. This is a lot of work, I know. But hey, so is cooking! Plus, it might help you plan your menu if you’re forced to actually write it down and print it out. Bonus points for nice cardstock or fancy fonts. Just please don’t use Comic Sans or Papyrus. No one takes those fonts seriously.

    Menu for our dinner group on April 20. It was a joke. I promise.

  2. Find other names for your food. That chocolate cake you baked? Couldn’t you call it a dense bittersweet chocolate cake with meringue topping? Sounds way more impressive, n’est-ce pas?
  3. Serve tiny portions. NOTHING is fancier than tiny portions. If you can, break everything down into individual things. Think simplicity.
  4. Serve things on platters. Seems more impressive.
  5. Never serve things how they would appear in a grocery store/nature. This cookie, for example, was cracked open, the filling remade from scratch, and put back together all caddywhompus. It is no longer a cookie – it is a work of art.

OK, so maybe doing these things won’t make your food fancy. Mayyyyyyyyyyyybe I’m poking fun at a lot of the plating and serving that real chefs do.
We all know I don’t really believe in doing these things for home cooking. There’s no need. When you’re entertaining your friends and family, you don’t need gimmicks. You just need food and great conversation.
Responses

  1. Hi I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you
    by error, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like
    to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep
    up the superb jo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

