Posted by: ohmypuddin | April 3, 2011

Anniversary at Uchiko

It was our anniversary on Monday. We’ve been married two years now. It feels like longer, and yet it feels like we just got married a few months ago.

First was a Friday night dinner at the Monterey, one of my new favorite restaurants in town. They specialize in small plates and creative techniques on familiar food. The menu changes all the time, so go often. My favorite things on the menu right now are the french fries, beef tongue, grilled cheese sandwich, and three meat sandwich.

Next was dinner at the Liberty Bar. Since it moved to the Convent, it’s been easier to get a table.

On Sunday, we decided to splurge and go to Uchiko in Austin. The chef there, Tyson Cole, is nominated for a James Beard Award, along with San Antonio’s Bruce Auden. Read more about it in my column in the San Antonio Current.

We drove up just for dinner and did the 10-course chef’s tasting, which is most of the specials of the day. It was delicious! And fascinating. I ate a dessert made of tobacco and a black olive sorbet. I ate a dish in a jar with rosemary smoke wafting up at me. I ate wagyu carpaccio and collard greens that shattered like glass.

Inside it was beautiful, all wood and clean lines with awesome music playing. There’s a sushi bar where you can watch the chefs make the sushi.

We drove home very stuffed and happy. It was a great way to celebrate our first few years together, and look forward to the dozens more to come.

For our anniversary this year, I got one of our favorite wedding photos – our wedding rings on the wine corks from our wedding – put on a canvas. Our awesome photographers, Bend the Light, took the photo and took care of purchasing this print for me. I love it!

Responses

  1. Happy anniversary! The food looks and sounds wonderful.

    Love the wedding ring pics! 🙂

  2. I had my first Uchi experience. I’ve wanted to go there ever since I read this post. It was wonderful!! Thanks for helping me discover this amazing place.

  3. […] so well. But I’m glad that one Texas chef made it through – Paul Qui from Uchiko, where John and I had our anniversary dinner earlier this year. He’s the only Texas chef, but if he makes anything half as awesome as the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

