Posted by: ohmypuddin | February 26, 2011

Change is in the Air

Change is difficult. It’s scary. Changing one thing often changes many things. It has a domino effect.

But it’s necessary. If we don’t change, we become stagnant.

Last week, I left my job as the online news and social media coordinator at St. Mary’s University, and I started as the marketing manager at Denim Group.

I struggled with the decision to leave. I liked my job at St. Mary’s. I liked the people. I liked the variety of work that I got to do, and the opportunities I was given.

I stuggled with the decision to take the new job. I’ve never been a marketing manager before. I came from a nonprofit. I would be a one-person department.

But I have to try. I have to do it, because I can’t turn down great opportunities. If I don’t at least try, I’ll never know if I can do it, and I’ll never give myself a chance to change.

So if you were wondering why the blog has been quiet these days, that’s why. I’ve been changing.

 

 

Responses

  1. In Lauren we trust.

  2. Good for you. You weren’t kidding about making this the Year of Lauren!

  3. Yay–you made a great decision.

  4. […] I find it constrictive. If I followed that, I probably wouldn’t have written about when I changed jobs, or running a half-marathon, or posted goofy cartoons about my […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

