Posted by: ohmypuddin | February 1, 2011

Sous Vide Steak

John busted out the sous vide machine this weekend to cook some enormous rib-eyes. They were really thick. John looked for temperatures and times to cook it, but the closest he could find was for an 8 oz steak, which you’re supposed to cook for 40 minutes. Since these steaks were significantly bigger, he cooked them at 123 degrees for an hour and a half.

This sounds like a long time, and it is, but you don’t have to do anything with the steak while it cooks. You vacuum seal in the spices and just put it in the water. Pretty easy.

And as a result, the meat comes out perfectly medium rare all over. John seared it off on the stove, so it looked pretty and had a nice difference in texture.

We also made mashed potatoes from Thomas Keller’s Ad Hoc and brussel sprouts. I love brussel sprouts. And garlic potatoes.

I’m really good at serving.

Pretty!

Everything came out beautifully. The steak was juicy, because all the juices were sealed in. The mashed potatoes, owing to my tendency to keep adding garlic, were delicious. The brussel sprouts were awesome, because I covered them in cheddar cheese. It was a delightful meal, and makes some great leftovers!

Also, I’m reading Julia Child’s My Life in France right now, and it makes me want to end everything with a “bon appetit!” like Julia does. So, bon appetit!

Responses

  1. So cool! Our DIY-crockpot-on-warm hack sous vide setup runs a little hot for this (hovers around 135-140), but might give it a shot anyway. I was thinking steak would be a good starter meat (so far, we’ve done a few pork tenderloins only), so this is timely.

  2. Lauren,
    I’m baffled at why you’d want to sous vide steaks – except maybe it’s fun. It seems like more work with less pay off to me, and you have to get a pan dirty anyway to give it a pretty outside.

    If the point is that it’s fun and trendy then that’s perfectly acceptable, but otherwise please enlighten me, cuz I’m missing the point.
    C

  3. […] Sous Vide? Cynthia commented on my last post with a good question – why should you sous vide? What is the point? Isn’t it a lot of […]

  4. If you have a tender piece of meat, just grill it. But for tougher cuts, sous vide is amazing.

    I just experimentally tried using hot air, rather than water, for my heating fluid, i.e. I cooked a chuck roast at a “128 F-130F” settings in my convection oven in a vacuum-sealed bag for 24 hours. I use quotations, because two meat thermometers showed that the oven would not give me exactly the temp I wanted.

    But, the end-result was great. The meat was pink, it exuded pink juice on cutting, and it had the texture and tenderness of a USDA choice strip steak.

    If you have a convection oven with a low-temp “dehydration” mode, you might try hot-air sous vide.

  5. […] Vide Recipes for Steak and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

