Posted by: ohmypuddin | January 4, 2011

Year of Lauren

This is my year, people. 2011. Mine. I called dibs, I called shotgun, and I am claiming this year as mine.

This is the year I say yes to new opportunities. Sometimes I don’t take on new things, because I’m afraid of failing, or looking foolish. Sometimes I don’t go to events I want to, because I’m afraid I won’t know anyone.

Not this year.

I talk a lot on this blog about how awesome I think I am. Sometimes I don’t feel so awesome though. Sometimes I’m insecure about my writing, my food, my ability to succeed. Sometimes I’m afraid that I can’t do it.

Not this year.

This is the year I take on new opportunities, the year I make new opportunities for myself. I won’t sit around and wait for things to come to me this year. I will make them myself.

I will be relentless. I will not stop. If I want something or need something, I’ll get it. If I can’t get it, I’ll figure out something close, and I’ll get that.

I’ll work less, but better. I’ll laugh harder. I’ll stop resisting, and start going for it.

This is my year.

Part of making this my year is putting it out there. Holding myself accountable for my success. That’s what this post is about.

In a year, I’ll have another post about how this was my year, how I made it happen, and all of the awesome things that come from making every year your year.

This is kind of like The Secret, but awesomer.

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll see #yearOfLauren in there. These are tweets of things I’m doing to make this year my year. Some of them don’t seem like much. But this is about pushing back at my own nature, taking chances I wouldn’t take ordinarily. This is about making my life the way I want it. This is about how the things I do everyday ARE my life, and not just things. This is about making the choice every day to be awesome, to not accept negativity, to not succumb to inertia, to kick my own ass, to making my life greater that I think it could be.

I’ve got some things in the works as part of this project. Hopefully I can share those with you soon. You’ll like them, I promise.

Responses

  1. Lauren!! I love this post. I’m behind you 100% and can’t wait to read about all the fantastic things you accomplish in your year! 🙂

  2. As you said at the beginning of your BMPR talk, “Let’s do this shit.” You ARE awesome. And you inspire me. Can’t wait to see the #yearOfLauren tweets.

  3. Hooray! i’m totally behind you in your #yearoflauren pursuits.

  4. are you in my head?

    I LOVE THIS.

    i love it so much, i might even print it out and tape it to my fridge.

    you are teh awesome, lauren. go for it! so am i. 😀

  5. This is GREAT! Can’t wait to see what happens in the #yearofLauren. Kiss some ass and have fun doing it!

  6. I fully support this. Do you think the placemats at Chinese restaurants will make room for this new zodiac sign?

  7. You go girl!

  8. Yay Lauren! I love this! Feeling very inspired now. Looking forward to the #YearOfLauren tweets for more awesomenessityness

  9. I love this…
    I’m in awe of this.
    Now that you’ve called dibs on 2011, can I put my hat in the ring for 2012?
    I just be the #yearoflauren is going to be full of awesome sauce!

  10. […] remember when I said this is my year? You should, it was only last week. Here’s the first of many things I’ve got in store […]

  11. […] clean and blog. But then I get to do things like meet Curtis Stone, and I remember that this is the Year of Lauren, and my life is pretty […]

  12. […] year was the year of Lauren. Remember that? I was going to create new experiences, try new things, take charge, carpe […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

