Posted by: ohmypuddin | December 13, 2010

Meeting Chef John Besh

So I attended the grand opening of Luke Restaurant last week.

It began with an elevator ride to the 2nd floor of Luke. When the doors opened, who was there but John Besh, arms wide open, as though to embrace me? He commanded us to get a drink, and we don’t have to be told twice to do that.

Shrimp and grits, fresh seafood, charcuterie, black forest cake, fried shrimp, meat pies. All decadent and delicious. And lots of drinks! I drank a lot of a peach champagne drink, which was curiously not a Bellini.

I didn’t take a lot of photos of things because I was too busy staking out a table and chasing down waiters with fried shrimp.

There was an interesting mix of people there. I saw some lady wearing hot pink opera-length gloves. That was pretty awesome. And a photographer wearing a tuxedo shirt and tie with jeans.

And, of course, I had to take a photo with John Besh. I asked if I could take a photo of him, and he said of course. As he put his arm around me, he said, “I have the best job in the world.”

I couldn’t agree more.


For more photos, check out SavorSA’s post and Geekette Bits’ post.


Are you my Facebook fan yet? You should be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

