Posted by: ohmypuddin | November 14, 2010

Rock N Roll Half Marathon

We finished. In under 3 hours, my mom and I ran 13.1 miles today, probably before you had lunch. We were about 7 miles in before you woke up, and 10 miles in by the time you had your coffee.

Today was cold. Chilly. Windy. When we got to the Tower of the Americas as 5:45 a.m., it was very cold. We waited in our corrals until we were released at 7:30 a.m..

I didn’t do as well as I did last year. I didn’t train as much. I didn’t run as fast, or as far. But I finished. I have the medal to prove it.

This year, we saw people in: tutus, banana suits, Elvis costumes, turkey costumes, and kilts.

Everyone was cold. But at about the first half-mile, it wasn’t so cold anymore.

The Alamo looks really small when you run by it.

Thank you to John, my mom, Julius, my dad, my brother, all of my family, all of you for being supportive and keeping me going. I wish you good luck in your own marathons!

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren W. Madrid, DannyCharbel Realtor. DannyCharbel Realtor said: RT @ohmypuddin: Rock N Roll Half Marathon: http://wp.me/pUtio-kf […]

  2. So awesome! Congratulations – it’s a great accomplishment! 🙂

  3. Congratulations girl! Such an accomplishment.

    I just barely survived the half marathon relay – but I had a BLAST! I am kinda jazzed, and am considering attempting my first half marathon next year. Am I nuts?

    Hope you’re not too sore and broken down today!

    • Glad you liked it! It is a lot of fun, so much more fun than running by yourself. You’re not crazy! If I can do it, you can too!

  4. […] If I followed that, I probably wouldn’t have written about when I changed jobs, or running a half-marathon, or posted goofy cartoons about my […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

