Posted by: ohmypuddin | October 29, 2010

Top 10 Things I Have Eaten – Number 2

Tasting menu at Alan Wong’s


Sadly, I don’t have a photo of my meal at Alan Wong’s.  Well, I do have a photo of the dessert from that meal. It was a 5-course prix fixe at Alan Wong’s restaurant in Honolulu. John and I went there in October 2008.

It was a momentous trip for many, many reasons. The first vacation we took together, just ourselves. Our first time to Hawaii. Our two-year anniversary. Our first really fancy meal together. Our first trip after we got engaged.

We’d heard about Alan Wong on Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations. That episode is also where we found out about La Mariana, supposedly the first tiki bar in Hawaii. It is definitely home of some strong mai tais. And there was some kind of pirate convention or party there when we went.

Anyway, Alan Wong’s. His restaurant is in Honolulu, in a nondescript building. You need a reservation, because the restaurant is not very big. But it is beautiful. And cold. I think they keep it so cold because the kitchen is open, so the chefs don’t burn up. We went on our actual anniversary and they had printed us our menus (see pic above). The staff had signed our menus too!

I can’t remember everything we ate that night. I remember it was beautiful without being stuffy. Lots of fish and sushi, like you would expect in Hawaii. But also down-to-earth things like grilled cheese and tomato soup. By the time we got to dessert, we were stuffed. But how could we not eat our dessert?

When I think about it now, this meal ranks at #2 not really because of the food, but because of what it was to me: our first fancy meal, first vacation. And the beginning of so many things: our marriage, our fine dining forays, our love of food, our trips to Hawaii. It represented a lot of great things in my life, and that’s why I loved it so much.

Responses

  1. […] cool breezes, long walks on beaches (some of them more eventful than others), delicious seafood. Oh Hawaii, I miss […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

