Posted by: ohmypuddin | September 30, 2010

Top 10 Things I Have Eaten – Number 6

Number 6: Farro risotto at Tre Trattoria

Remember I had this dish at Tre Trattoria this summer? I do. It was delicious, creamy, without being overly soft. Farro is a really hard grain, but you can definitely overcook it.

I love dishes like this because they seem so simple, yet, if you tried to replicate it, you’d run into difficulties. Knowing how food works is a skill and you have to learn how to do it.

Maybe part of what I loved about this dish was just the experience – getting dressed up for a multicourse meal, drinking nice wine, meeting cool people. Part of our expectations and enjoyment of food comes from so many things other than the food. That’s why we talk about service and waiters and wait times and atmosphere when we talk about restaurants. We frame the food around the experience of it, and the experience affects how we feel about the food.

Regardless of why I loved it, I did love it. Of course, I love anything with lots of dairy in it, paired with an expensive red wine.

Responses

  1. Mmmm, I remember this dish. It was really, really yummy.

  2. Looks delicious! I will have to try that as I am a risotto fan (I’ve even made it once, and since I’m not a great cook, that’s saying a lot about my risotto love!).

  3. Totally hooked on the farro salad. Had it again about a week ago, and it seemed even better. Also love the grilled radicchio, and the goat cheese pizza.


Leave a Reply

Categories

