Posted by: ohmypuddin | September 1, 2010

Top 10 Things I’ve Eaten – #9

Moving along with the list

#9 Meatballs with Pappardelle

Meatballs with Pappardelle

You know, when you spend as much time cooking as I do, you tend to get pretty critical of your food. If I spend hours and hours making a tomato sauce, it better be the best damn tomato sauce I’ve ever eaten. If I have to buy 4 different kinds of meat to make meatballs, they better make me cry with joy. And fullness.

Sometimes I cook for hours and even if the dish is good, I hate it for not being better. I’m very hard on the dishes I make because I spend my time and money and blood and sweat and tears to make it. I burned my hand, cut my finger, accidentally rubbed pepper in my eye. I worked hard for it, and it had better be good.

So when I love my own food, it’s because it’s really, really good, like these meatballs and pasta.

This recipe is from Ad Hoc by Thomas Keller, which I highly recommend. It’s all about techniques and making classic dishes well. It’s so good, and fun book. It’s got a lot of fun photos and graphics, so it reads more like a coffee table book than a cookbook.

I think Keller recommends you make your own pasta, but seriously. That sauce alone takes like 4 hours with all the chopping of things and then the cooking and then the napping, because it takes so long and you’re so tired now. I think he recommends you grind your own meat too, but I have limits.

Regardless of how you make it, this is a phenomenal dish. It’s good when you make it, it’s good later, it’s good with everything. I want to make those meatballs someday and just eat them by themselves. They’re all gooey in the center with cheese and crusty on the outside.

Responses

  1. just got that cookbook – now I have to try the meatballs…and I have a new pasta maker 🙂

  2. Looks so good – do you know I never had eaten a meatball until I was 24? We just never had them growing up. I’m going to have to try these!


Leave a Reply

Categories

