Posted by: ohmypuddin | August 30, 2010

Top 10 Things I’ve Eaten – Number 10

Many thanks to Natalie for 1) being awesome over at @rbfcu where she gave me a mayor prize and 2) responding to my plea for what to blog. Natalie suggested a top 10 things I’ve eaten, and that was a great idea! Thanks Natalie!

It’s taken me a long time to write this post, because I had to first figure out the top 10 things I’d ever eaten. That is hard, friends. I’ve eaten a lot of good things.

First, I had to establish criteria – Should I include categories of meals? Like, can I just say “anything at The Lodge”? Is cheese it’s own category? Once I figured out how I was grading things, I had to make my list and then rate things. I had a lot of things on the list and narrowing it down to 10 was difficult. Some things are tied. Some are ridiculous. Cheese is in almost all of them. But I did it.

So let’s start, shall we? We’ll start with 10th and work our way to first.

#10 Chicken and dumplings, and the cheeseburger at The Cove (tie)

So. First off, it’s a tie. But is very different ways.

Chicken and Dumplings

I love this recipe. It’s a great crowd-pleaser. It takes forever to cook, but it’s worth it. It’s better the next day, and the next. It’s probably still good 3 days later, but you won’t have any leftovers after that.

This is definitely a winter recipe. It’s hot broth and chicken and fluffy dumplings half-submerged in gravy. It warms you inside and out. It’s like have biscuits on top of chicken soup, but 17 times better.

It’s so good that dinner club didn’t mind when we accidentally screwed up the timing and had to serve dinner at 9:30. Because it’s worth it in the end.

I put all my thoughts and explanations in the recipe itself, and I don’t know other ways to say how awesome this recipe is.

You should cook it. And then bring me some. Please.

Cheeseburger at The Cove

I know, right? You’re all, Lauren, you chose a cheeseburger as one of the top 10 things you’ve eaten? Well, to you I say 1) It’s a damn good burger and 2) This is my list, so I can do what I want and 3) Maybe you read on for my reasoning instead of getting all judgmental on me and 4) Sorry I called you judgmental.

I used to work just down the street from The Cove. Have you been to the Cove? It’s a restaurant, bar, club, laundromat and car wash. It’s local and organic and sustainable. It’s got a playscape for kids. It’s got beer for adults.

And it has great cheeseburgers. I don’t know what is is about these cheeseburgers, but they’re so damn good. And I would know. I love cheeseburgers. I’ve eaten them everywhere and am very critical of them.

The meat is juicy without being too greasy. The bun never gets soggy. There aren’t many toppings on it, and almost no sauces except mustard. I usually like mayo on my cheeseburgers, but I never put it on this one, because it’s perfect just the way it is.

I don’t know what makes it so great. Only that it is great.

To make it even better, get the sweet potato fries. Especially if you like sweet potato fries. And even if you don’t. You’ll probably like these.

I think it goes without saying, since this is a cheeseburger and all, but this is not a healthy meal. I mean, it’s local and grass fed and blabbedy bloo blah, but…it’s a cheeseburger. But if you’re going to eat a cheeseburger, you may as well go batshit and eat a really delicious one, right? I hate when I waste calories on bad cheeseburgers.

Responses

  1. YUM! Glad you liked the idea – I too love the sweet potato fries at The Cove, but I don’t remember which burger I had when I went there. :-/

  2. […] Top 10 Things I’ve Eaten – #9 Moving along with the list… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

