Posted by: ohmypuddin | July 14, 2010

La Gloria Ice House

“You haven’t been to La Gloria Ice House yet?” I know. I KNOW. How could I have not gone to La Gloria until now? I don’t know. I don’t have a good reason. But now that I’ve gone, I’ll certainly be back.

La Gloria is a new restaurant in the Pearl Brewery, serving traditional Mexican street food. I’ve never been to Mexico or had really traditional Mexican street food, so I can’t really judge the authenticity. But I can judge deliciousness, because anyone can do that. And I can tell you about it, because I have a blog.

You have to order at the counter at La Gloria. This is dangerous, because it doesn’t leave you a lot of time to look at the menu to decide. And you’ll want a lot of time. I’d look at the menu online and get your order down ahead of time. Since I didn’t do that, I ordered too much food for myself.

The day before, I’d said on Twitter that I was going to La Gloria and got a slew of recommendations on what to eat. This was awesome, as it helped me decide before I left.

After you order, they have a bunch of sauces and salsas on the table for you, but you have to order chips if you want them.

ceviche verde

One of the awesome recs was the ceviche verde, ceviche with green olives. Some reviews have skewered it for being oily, but I didn’t think it was overly oily. I like oily things though. It was nice to eat a ceviche without an overly citrus taste. I’m not a huge ceviche fan, but I liked this one. It comes with tostadas to eat it with.

tacos potosinos

Another awesome rec! Soft tortillas filled with potatoes and carrots, topped with sauce, queso, and green beans. YUM. This was seriously delicious and a lot like enchiladas. Since all the food is small plates, I didn’t realize there would be 3 tacos. I took one of them home for John.

quesdilla gringo

This quesadilla was recommended by the cashier. I didn’t really get why she liked it so much when I first started eating it, but then I hit pork and I knew why. The pork is what makes it awesome. The machego is pretty good too, but sometimes so much melted cheese tastes bland. The pork is tender and fresh and gives it a nice texture.

I can say that for street food, I paid a lot of money. All of this food set me back $19, which isn’t that much in the grand scheme of things, but is a lot for a single person for lunch. I also got a drink, which are kind of expensive, at least $3. The danger of ordering at the counter is that you just start wildly ordering and not thinking about the cost, which is what happens to me. If you’re looking for street food prices, this might not be the place for you.

I’ve seen the line at La Gloria go out the door, especially after the farmer’s market on Saturdays. They’re open until 2 a.m., so maybe check out the night scene.

Friends, I would not recommend eating as much food as I did. It’s not a good idea. But it is delicious. I’ve read some reviews of La Gloria, some good, some bad. Some think La Gloria isn’t very authentic. Some say they don’t get basic things right, like steak tacos. I can only tell you that I enjoyed what I ate, and I’ll probably be back for more.

Check out more food posts at Wanderfood Wednesday

Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren W. Madrid, Lauren W. Madrid. Lauren W. Madrid said: La Gloria Ice House: http://wp.me/pUtio-eD […]

  2. oh, this is my kind of place! time to plan a trip to san antonio, i think…

  3. I think I’d have to go right for those soft tortillas filled with all those veggies!


Leave a Reply

Categories

