Posted by: ohmypuddin | July 10, 2010

I Have Too Many Vegetables

That’s a lot of vegetables, no? There’s a ton of pickles, cucumbers, squash, some long beans, onions, tomatoes, bell peppers, peppers, and some basil. This is our haul from the past 2 weeks of our CSA.

What should I make with all of this? When faced with such a massive amount of produce, my first inclination is to make the largest salad ever and toss it all in. But that’s probably not a good idea. John wants to pickle some of the small cucumbers, which we can use some of the onions in too. And we could do a nice squash and tomato salad. But what else? Anyone got any good idea? Especially with all the squash. I can’t eat that much squash myself, you guys have to help me.

Leave me a recipe or link in the comments and if I make it, I’ll blog it. Deal?

Responses

  1. I have a great recipe for Zucchini pasta sauce, we call it the Green Slime. Steam 2 or 3 mid-size squash, put in blender. Add 2 tbls lemon juice, 2 tbls butter, 1/2 C.croutons, Italian spices. Blend it up till smooth and serve over pasta. Measurements are thereabouts. We like it kinda lemony and you can add 1/4 C. grated Parmesan cheese if you want.
    Enjoy

  2. On the pasta sauce front, I often throw some squash into my Bolognese. You could use the tomatoes, bell peppers, basil, and onions too. Saute your bell peppers, onion, some carrots and celery with pancetta then add the squash and whatever other veggies you have lying around, cook down with beef broth. Add ground pork and beef, brown. Pour in some red wine, tomato sauce, and your tomatoes and basil. I also put in some sirracha because we like it a little spicy. Cook until you’re too hungry to wait any longer. I like to eat it with capellini. It makes so much you can freeze it and you and John can have about 3 more meals out of it.

  3. peppers, squash, tomatoes, eggplant, onions, garlic cooked together make a lovely ratatouille.
    or
    Leave out the eggplant, don’t cook anything, and make gazpacho.
    or
    You can make a squash based soup with onions, garlic, squash, broth and process it when the squash are tender – this freezes well. You can add whatever herbs you like, or cheese, or other veg.
    or
    It would all make a lovely salad and I would’t give up on that idea.
    and
    You could also make a beautiful soup, vegetarian or not, with all the veg.

    Once, I had a cucumber soup – the usual suspects: onions, celery, garlic, carrots, plus broth and lots of thinly sliced cucumbers. cook the broth and veg till its the flavor you like and then add the cucumbers and cook until they are just cooked through. You can add cream or 1/2 & 1/2 if you like it creamy.

    Too many vegetables is a problem I face regularly and I’d be glad to help if you’re still stuck for ideas.

    Good luck – and good eating.

  4. If it’s butternut squash, I think u should make squash fries…mmm…

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren W. Madrid, LauraCarter. LauraCarter said: RT @ohmypuddin: I Have Too Many Vegetables: http://wp.me/pUtio-dX There are some good recipes here. […]

  6. We are also members of a CSA – Calypso Farm here in Fairbanks. We have been SWIMMING in salad greens which is a bit frustrating because you really can’t do much with it BUT eat it for salad. Fortunately the other produce should be coming into season about now though… Good luck with yours.

  7. […] for all the veggie suggestions, everyone! I really liked Cynthia‘s soup suggestion. I decided to go with a squash soup, […]

  8. Sauage Squash Casserole

    steam 4 cups slices yellow squash and one chopped oinon (Or cook in butter 🙂 untill onion is clear.
    Add your favorite sauage (cooked)

    Don’t for get to spice it up, salt, pepper or garlic pepper to taste.

    Italian seasoning with Italian sauage is good.

    Put in baking dish and top with cheese, crumbled potatoe chips, or flavored bread crumbs. bake at 350 for 25 minutes


Leave a Reply

Categories

