Posted by: ohmypuddin | June 13, 2010

Gimme Some Dim Sum!

I am rather full today, because I ate dim sum. Dim sum is a style of eating at Chinese restaurants, where food is wheeled around on carts and brought to you in small portions in bamboo baskets. Learn more about dim sum on Wikipedia, where I found out many fascinating things about dim sum.

I love dim sum, and I’d heard that Golden Wok had good dim sum. Sam and Kate mentioned they’d never had it before, so I suggested that we go on Sunday. I don’t know if Sunday is the traditional day to have dim sum, but that’s when I’ve always had it.

If you go to Golden Wok, I would recommend going early. They open at 10:30 am on Sundays, and we got there at 11. It was packed. The parking lot was jammed.

Eating dim sum is kind of like tapas, because everything is small plates, except the food comes to you and you can see it before you eat it. There’s usually 2-4 of any given thing in one serving, and the waiter marks it on a sheet on your table to keep track of what you ate. Many waiters wheel carts around with various things in them, so you look at what’s on the cart and order it at your leisure. If there’s anything you want that you don’t see, you can always ask the waiter for it.

The picture above is lo mai gai, filled with sticky rice and other delicious things. I remember my maternal grandmother made them a lot, in perfect pyramids.


I don’t really know the Chinese names for a lot of these foods, because when I was growing up, my grandma just gave you the food. If you asked her what it was, she just insisted that you eat it. So there’s no telling what kinds of foods I’ve eaten. But they’ve all been delicious.

Most of the foods at dim sum are starch and meat. My favorite are the fluffy barbeque pork buns. I didn’t take a picture of those because I ate them immediately, but they look like this.

Even though we were so, so full, we got some mango tapioca pudding for dessert. It was delicious and I loved the gelatinous little tapioca.

And now, even though it is 8 pm, I am still very, very full. I was so full afterwards that the thought of drinking coffee made me want to vomit. I might possibly skip dinner altogether.

So if you go to dim sum, go early, go hungry, wear stretchy pants, and plan on not eating afterwards.

Part of Wanderfood Wednesday

Responses

  1. I want to add this to my list of places to go the next time we are in town 🙂

  2. Did you try the foong jow?

    • I didn’t try it here, but I’ve had it before. Actually, I didn’t even see it go by at Golden Wok.

    • What is foong jow?

      • Chicken feet!

  3. You should’ve lifted weights and then gone swimming for and hour and a half. That totally would’ve made you hungry.

  4. Yum! Now I’m craving dim sum. And you are absolutely right about getting there early – if you’re not one of the first people there, be prepared to wait!

  5. I’ve never been to Golden Wok, but I’ll definitely give it a try sometime. I’ll make sure I take your advice about the stretchy pants.

  6. Yum yum yum Dim Sum! Looks so tasty – great photos! 🙂

  7. Ohhhh, that mango pudding is calling my name! How fresh and cooling and delicious. 🙂

  8. This looks wonderful!

    I’ll be in China in two weeks, and Dim Sum is high on my list!

  9. As a vegetarian I’ve always had a hard time finding good dim sum because it’s usually meat-based treats. The sweets are good, however.


Leave a Reply

Categories

