Posted by: ohmypuddin | January 15, 2013

Quinoa Cups: Eating Healthy Sucks Sometimes But Doesn’t Have To

This post is called Quinoa Cups, but could also be called, Eating Healthy Sucks Sometimes But Doesn’t Have To.

I’m pretty sure that we all know that we should eat less, eat better and exercise more. That’s not news to any of us, right?

So blah blah, eating better, blah blah healthy cakes. Whatever. It’s a new year, and yet another chance to eat better.

quinoa cupsI’ve been making these quinoa cups for breakfast. One or two does the trick. They’re essentially mini frittatas, with quinoa subbed in for some of the egg. I mean, there’s egg in it. But there’s an assload of quinoa too, which is magical and is made of unicorn tail or something. Whatever. It’s good for you! And definitely better than eating a stack of pancakes or bacon, which is what we really want to be eating.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about restarting my diet and tastebuds. Less cheese and carbs, more yogurts, proteins, produce. Bon Appetit does a great food lover’s cleanse every year, and the idea is to keep it healthy and flavorful – use more good fats, less carbs, and more seasonal produce. The salmon breakfast sounds interesting and easy to me, I’ll probably try it out. Essentially, it helps you reset your palate by eating more good foods and fewer bad foods. Which is what we should all be doing anyway.

So this is a start. A healthier start.

Between everything happening with my home life last year, I gained a fair amount of weight last year. Not a huge amount, but enough to go up a few pant sizes. It’s not the end of the world, but it’s time to get back to where I was before – exercising, eating less and better, feeling better about myself.

I started a new job in December at Rackspace, where John works, so this is a great opportunity for me to get back on track with a lot of things. Blogging, eating, everything. Hopefully, I’ll make writing a bigger priority this year. In the meantime, I’ll probably be eating a crapload of quinoa.

Quinoa Cups
Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 onion or green onion, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook the quinoa. Let sit for a bit.
2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Spray a muffin tin or line with liners. Put mix in the tin, and top with cheese if desired.

NOTE: Put whatever you want in this recipe. In this version, I left out cheese, but used pancetta. You can use sausage, leeks, cauliflower, really anything. Use cumin if you want to. Red pepper if you like it spicy. It’s a good way to use leftover produce. You really just want to make sure you have enough egg in there to bind everything together.

Responses

  1. Love you. Love this post. Don’t love quinoa yet, but interested in trying this recipe. I make little egg cups for breakfast sometimes, but lately I’m traumatized by how many eggs I eat per week. #watchwaspyeateggs. This would probably be a good strategy to help me cut back on my gratuitous egg consumption.

  2. You can’t just tease like that. Where is the recipe? Hungry readers want to know.

    • Whoops, sorry about that! Completely forgot the recipe part! Updated now.

  3. […] Which is where the best ideas come from. And since it was a good idea, I thought I’d share. Plus, the last post I put up, I totally forgot to put in the recipe, so now I’m paranoid about the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,870 other followers

