Posted by: ohmypuddin | October 13, 2010

Culinary Institute of America in San Antonio

Or, how I accosted Rick Bayless.

Ahem.

As you may have heard, the Culinary Institute of America’s San Antonio location had its grand opening this past weekend. (John and I make a very brief appearance in that KENS video. We’re waiting in line to get food.) This is an awesome thing. Having a culinary institute will bring lots of great chefs, restaurants, food and knowledge to the city. I’m exciting about the CIA’s chefs, because they have plans to have a restaurant, bakery and brewery on campus.

The event itself was huge, with tents everywhere with free food from local vendors like La Gloria and the RK Group. I also accidentally ate huitaloche, which I have been afraid of ever since reading The Sneeze’s Steve, Don’t Eat It! But we didn’t die.

I was already excited about the event before we went because I heard Rick Bayless was there. He was signing cookbooks for people. So John and I got in line to buy a cookbook, which was a bizarrely chaotic process that took so long that by the time we bought one, Rick Bayless’ time was up and he left. I was, needless to say, bereft. We did still purchase a signed copy of Fiesta at Rick’s.

We wandered around, listened to some music, ate more food, watched a cooking demonstration, and decided it was time to leave. But as we were leaving, I spotted Rick Bayless in a tent behind the cooking demonstration. He wasn’t in his chef’s coat and he was listening to his iPod. I knew he was trying to be left alone, but I also knew I would be kicking myself later if I didn’t at least try to talk to him.

So I went up to him and told him I was a fan, and asked if I could take a picture with him. And as tired as he was, he agreed. He’s a very gracious man and I am grateful to him for accommodating my craziness. I really did want to get a pic with him and shake his hand. I thanked him profusely and wished him a happy visit in San Antonio.

So that is the story of how I ate infected corn and probably freaked out Rick Bayless.

Read Waspy Redhead‘s and Alamo A La Carte’s recaps of the festivities!

Read more Wanderfood Wednesday posts!

Responses

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren W. Madrid, Lauren W. Madrid. Lauren W. Madrid said: Culinary Institute of America in San Antonio: http://wp.me/pUtio-iW [...]

  2. Great post – glad to know I’m not the only one who geeked out on Rick Bayless.

  3. Good for you! I wouldn’t have been as brave. Love Rick Bayless!

  4. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Congrats on getting the picture with Rick Bayless.

  5. [...] Culinary Institute of America in San Antonio « i go right for the blogular [...]

  6. This is a good blog message, I will keep the post in my mind. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. :) thanks Jinyilian.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,629 other followers

